Warning! Your browser is extremely outdated and not web standards compliant.
Your browsing experience would greatly improve by upgrading to a modern browser.

Greteman Named Spring 2017 DAISY Award Honoree

by -

DAISY Award honoree Kasey Greteman

Kasey Greteman, RN in Acute Nursing and ER, was named Greene County Medical Center’s first 2017 DAISY Award honoree at a ceremony on May 11.  There were eight nurses recognized at the event.  

Greteman was nominated by Greene County Public Health Director Becky Wolf, who wrote about the care Greteman gave to Wolf’s dad while he was hospitalized.  “In late January, my 89-year-old dad was admitted to Greene County Medical Center after suffering a severe stroke,” stated Wolf in the nomination letter.  “While each and every nurse who cared for Dad delivered compassionate and high-quality care, one night nurse consistently demonstrated patience, kindness and the ability to care for not only Dad, but also his family.  She took the time to sit with us at the bedside table and provide some much-needed support and reassurance during some of our most worrisome hours.  Although Dad passed away a few weeks later, this wonderful nurse continues to remain in our hearts for everything she did for all of us.”  

Greteman is the seventh nurse to be honored at the medical center.  Other nominees recognized at the May 11 event were Long Term Care nurse Maria Bretey, Acute nurse Angela Davis, quality management nurse Allie Hamilton, care management nurse Karen Carman, public health nurse Deb Hoskins. care management nurse Laura Walker and Acute nurse Megan Bonney.  

The internationally-known DAISY Award has been used to recognize thousands of “extraordinary nurses” for exceptional patient care for the past 17 years.  

Nominations for the DAISY Award can be made throughout the year.  Greene County Medical Center holds ceremonies twice a year.  Nomination forms and submission boxes are located throughout the medical center or electronically via the medical center’s website, gcmchealth.com.  Nominations can be made by patients, their family members, caretakers, community members and co-workers.

DAISY Award nominees (L to R): Maria Bretey, Angela Davis, Allie Hamilton, Kasey Greteman, Karen Carman, Deb Hoskins, Laura Walker.  Not pictured: Megan Bonney.