Warning! Your browser is extremely outdated and not web standards compliant.
Your browsing experience would greatly improve by upgrading to a modern browser.

Medical Center Board Receives Certification


Greene County Medical Center joins six other hospitals in the state of Iowa whose entire Board of Trustees has received the Iowa Hospital Association’s (IHA) Trustee Education Certification (TEC).  Due to COVID-19 precautions, the Iowa Hospital Association Governance Forum was held virtually on August 20 and 21 where the Board of Trustees was recognized as a Three Star Hospital for one hundred percent of all Board members certified.  

The IHA Hospital Board Certification program is a voluntary process for strengthening leadership and accountability. The program provides educational guidance to ensure excellence, innovation and accountability in health care governance. “I’m so proud of this board,” said Tracy Warner, Greene County Medical Center CEO. “Health care organizations are incredibly complex and the industry is facing a myriad of challenges, not to mention operating under a global pandemic. The fact that Greene County Medical Center trustees are pursing continuous learning and becoming more informed and aware of their responsibilities as they serve this community, is amazing. This Board is a knowledgeable and dedicated group of leaders.” The program requires learning opportunities, leadership forum attendance and other learning opportunities on topics such as health care environment issues and trends, compliance, quality and patient safety and finance.

The Board members who received certification includes Jim Schleisman (Chair), David Hoyt, Doug Hawn, Bill Raney, Ralph Riedesel and Kim Bates. Former Board member, Judy Sankot, also received this certification. Katherine Neese, who joined the board in early 2020 was not active at the time of certification. The medical center’s board members are publicly elected non-partisan officials.

Photo Caption: Greene County Medical Center Board of Trustees with their TEC program completion certificates. LtoR: Kim Bates, Ralph Riedesel, Bill Raney, Jim Schleisman and Doug Hawn. Not pictured: David Hoyt.